DeepWars FAQ and Errata

 

 

DeepWars Frequently Asked Questions

 

 

Note: All edits and errata are updated in the current version of the rulebook, both PDF and printed.
 
We offer free updates to PDF rules and a discount of 50% off new printed rulebooks for those wanting to update to the newest version (v 1.995). Please click here to contact us for the update.

 
 
1. How do turns work?
 
A: The turn relates to the player and not to the models. When it is player A’s turn, that player can choose to activate models but may fail on the first one, transferring the turn to player B. If player B activates all of his or her models, the turn switches back to player A, who may then fail on the first model, turning over the turn to Player B again. This is where it is important to activate wisely. Turns are fluid in this game and do not imply that every model gets a chance to activate in one block of time. Models can only activate once during the turn for a player though.
 
 

2. Is a model affected by poison, corrosion or zone spell effects if it is not activated?
 
A. No, the effects of a poisoned, corroded or any other state only get applied (Resistance check, etc.) once the model activates. Models cannot forfeit their activation in order to stay alive though, so if the model in danger is the last one to activate in a warband and it is still the player’s turn with that model, it is best to just go ahead and try to activate. But if the player keeps losing his turn and that model does not get a chance to activate, it does not have to apply any poison, corrosion, etc., but it does not get a chance to act either. The idea is that models should not die unless getting a chance to be active.
 
 
3. Why is it so hard to activate?
 
A. It is difficult for high Q troops to activate if they do not have a Leader, which gives then a +1 bonus to the roll when within one Long stick. The +1 bonus can make a huge difference in a battle. Hero points from one model activating with three actions and killing an enemy can be used on the same turn for the next model in activation, giving a +1 bonus to the activation rolls. An Animist can give a bonus of +1 to Artificial mechs and a Deep Caller gives +1 to Animals and Warbeasts.
 
 
4. Does armor still work when transfixed or fallen?
 
A. Yes, armor always works and is not damaged. Weapons can be damaged however.
 
 
5. How are wounds handled?
 
A. The basic rule for combat is that a model that loses in combat, either H2H or ranged, can be fallen or recoil. Fallen models are technically wounded, and are easier to hit and die if lose in combat one more time, although they can recover and “heal”. Models that recoil are not wounded, and are just moved away from combat. Body parts can be targeted and disabled. This silhouette of the model on the game card shows the different targetable regions and their current status. If a subsystem or body part is damaged (losing a combat roll), mark the first box. If destroyed (two losses in combat or doubled), mark the second box. Non-targeted attacks hit the body – mark one box if fallen or transfixed and remove when recovered. The head or controls are destroyed with one damaging strike, resulting in death.
 
 
6. What is a counterattack?
 
A. The attacker has an advantage in that it can charge into combat, attack from cover or otherwise utilize tactics that give an attack bonus. Defending models’ combat rolls avoid injury and perform a counterattack, injuring the attacker without even needing to activate, very handy for experienced warriors. In some situations the defender can only defend with the combat roll and cannot counterattack. There is no separate roll for a counterattack as it is built into the simultaneous combat rolling system.
 
 
7. What are depth levels?
 
A. Depth levels give DeepWars a 3D element by allowing models to swim up and down in the water. In the Shallow Shelf zone, games should have one or two depth levels, but the Abyssal zone can have four or more. Each depth level is roughly equivalent to one medium stick. Range for models at different depths is the sum of the distance on the map, plus one Medium stick per depth level. Attackers at a higher depth level than the defender can swim down to the depth level of the defender for a hand-to-hand using one action to gain a +1 bonus in hand-to-hand combat for that turn.
 
 
8. Where do Summoned Creatures Appear?
 
A. Summoned ethereals appear within two long sticks from the caster on the turn that the spell is cast, but must be within the field of view of the caster. This means in murky water, the ethereal will be almost adjacent to the caster. A caster cannot summon an ethereal into a closed structure. Wild creatures appear on the next turn for the player after the Sea Shaman casts the spell, at the edge of the map that has the closest scenic item. For example, the player has a Sea Shaman summon a wild creature with its actions, then activates two more models before losing his turn. The other player plays his turn, then transfers play back to the player with the Sea Shaman, who now can bring out the summoned wild creature – which has just swum over from who knows where.
 
 
9. What is up with zone spells?
 
A. Zone spells are fun ways to spice up a game but can easily clutter up a board. A spellcaster can cast a zone spell of one type and hold it open, but cannot cast another zone spell of that kind at the same time until the first one is dispelled. Another spellcaster can cast a zone spell though, so having multiple spellcasters can mean multiple zones.

 
 

DeepWars Errata & New Rules

 
Please visit the web forum to see the errata list
link here

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *